So, how am I surviving? Initially I didn’t know how I would survive this. I had accepted his girlfriend. She was like a given. But I had loved him so much that I hoped and prayed that if ever they broke up then he would realise what he means to me. But that never happened. He continued being warm, protective, endearing but never did he love me back. And I didn’t even know when it happened between him and my best friend. Now I have to tell you my best friend and my crush are dating and how I am surviving it.

My Crush Is Dating My Bestie And This Is How I Am Surviving

Initially I was so broken and shattered that I never thought I would recover from this jolt. It was so emotionally difficult for me because I loved my best friend and I loved him, my crush. How could I start hating them all of a sudden? I didn’t know how to deal with the situation and deal with my own heart. But gradually I realised I had to survive the fact that that my crush is dating my best friend and move on with life.

1. I avoid third-wheeling

It is different when he asks me along for a chat or for a dinner date. However, mostly, I have explained to N that I do not want to be near them when they’re all lovey dovey. So, I excuse myself when they start kissing or just sharing their personal talks. I understand his and N’s space and they understand mine. Perhaps, it is because N understands me so well, that it works out, but, I like that this means I don’t have to confront them in all their lovey glory. It is very hard to see him look into her eyes with that deep feeling. But N is a very nice girl and I did not want to stop being her bestie. So I worked around the situation. I usually hang out with them when we are in a gang otherwise avoid them when they are a couple.

2. I put their happiness first

I love him and I love N. It might be a difficult decision but, I understand that they are happy together. There’s this old song in my language that says that you should let your love be happy even if it breaks your heart. So, I keep that in mind when they go out. It charms me when he smiles so much, and does those small jigs when they are drunk. I love how N gushes about him when we are in an auto going back to her place. Initially I used to well up thinking of  how happy they are together but now I have taught myself to feel happy about it. We need to be positive about things like this. Being negative is always easy but being positive in a situation like this is hard but I have been so and I pat myself on the back for being that.

3. No more passionate talks

The moment he starts talking about art I cannot help but fall for him so much more. So, I try and keep myself away from all those talks as much as I can. I cannot afford of N being jealous of me right now, and I cannot help myself if I fall further down the rabbit hole that is this crush. Some days it is incredibly hard when he would draw a cat on my napkin while sitting in a cafe, or when he would be sneaky and write my name in calligraphy on a paper. However, I know it does not mean anything anymore, and I somehow survive.

My Crush Is Dating My Bestie And This Is How I Am Surviving - 73My Crush Is Dating My Bestie And This Is How I Am Surviving - 33